Happy New Year!

Dahlia, Butchart Gardens

I always have this desire to address you as “dear readers”–so today, dear readers, let me wish you a very happy 2015!

I must say, I am looking forward to this year. I have lots of writing projects on the go and in planning, and lots of publishing projects too–plus some ways to fix my difficulties and delays from the last few weeks. I’ve been going over what I accomplished in 2014, and am pretty pleased with it in general, although I also made several mistakes (not keeping as good records as I intended, for one, and thinking I would be faster at covers than I am, for another).

Still, in 2014:

– I published Till Human Voices Wake Us, which I’d been working on for more than a third of my life, and am pretty pleased with how it turned out and its reception.HV Thumbnail 25.vi.2014

– I wrote around 225,000 words of original fiction, along with editing Human Voices, and numerous blog posts (if not quite as many as intended). That includes a full draft of one novel (Stargazy Pie), a quarter of a second (Whiskeyjack), nine finished and sundry partial short stories and novellas. The first quarter of 2015 will be spent finishing a lot of these and getting them out.

– I published six short stories

– I began a small business (Underhill Books) and have been learning the ins and outs of both entrepreneurship in general and my little piece of the publishing industry in particular. Lots more to learn here in 2015–including the better record-keeping techniques and practices–but still, this isn’t something I thought I would ever do, but am having a huge amount of fun doing. I am really excited about my plans for Underhill Books in 2015 and going forward. (I’m still working on my business plan for 2015-2020, which is fun in its own way.)

I’m sure there are more things I accomplished this year, but those are some pleasing ones. I’ll post some of my goals for the new year in the coming days.

Waves out fishing

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

Join the Conversation

