Orange-Eyed Geese, Brussels Sprouts, and Books

Apart from the enjoyment I get from writing this blog, I have been learning salutary lessons about myself, in particular that I should stop making over-ambitious plans for myself.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with setting large goals, but I think I could do with being a bit more realistic about how much time I actually have to pursue them!  I am finding having an extra course to teach noticeable.  I also had a bit of normal-but-extra work this week, in the sense that I knew it was coming but still had to make the time for it, which has meant creative writing has slowed down to a trickle from its normal stream.

But I have some pictures!  Last weekend I walked through the Public Gardens, pas the geese they have there.  I’m not sure what kind of geese these are, exactly; a domesticated type, I think.  But I was much struck by the beautiful orange rings around their eyes.

I like geese quite a bit, to watch (and to eat, I admit); more than chickens.  One of my favourite memories from the time I spent living in Poitiers, France, was watching six white geese in the river.  I often passed them going into the city centre from where I was staying, paddling along or grazing on a small lawn near the bridge.  One day I will have some geese of my own, I think.

In my CSA box this week I received a stalk of Brussels sprouts, which are among my favourite vegetables.  (People coming to our house for dinner have often been much bemused by the argument over how many Brussels sprouts each person gets.)

I am also going to list my October reading today.  This makes a year since I started keeping track (!), and I have some things to say about the overall list, but don’t have time at the moment to consider any patterns or say anything meaningful about them.  But here are the books I read this past month:
How to Make Your Life Easier at Work,Al Kelly (owned)

The Far West, Patricia C. Wrede (library)

*Epistle to Romans, Saint Paul

Barnheart, Jenna Woginrich (library)

Your Money or Your Life, Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin (library)

Fables and Fairy Tales, Leo Tolstoy (owned)

The Wealthy Barber Returns, David Chilton (library)

Making Paths and Walkways, Paige Gilchrist Blomgreen (library)

*Mystical Theology, Ps-Dionysius the Areopagite

Herm: Our Island Home, Jenny Wood (owned)

*Selections, Al-Farabi

*Hayy ibn Yaqzan, Ibn Tufayl

The Cater Street Hangman, Anne Perry (owned)

Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Truman Capote (owned)

Waiting for God, Simone Weil (owned)

Leaf by Niggle, J.R.R. Tolkien

*Summa Theologiae, selections, St. Thomas Aquinas

The Mind of the Maker, Dorothy L. Sayers

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, Catherynne Valente

Noah’s Garden, Sara Stein (owned)

Why Me? Donald E. Westlake

The Hamlynn Guide to Birds of Britain and Europe, Bertel Bruun and Arthur Singer

 

Twenty, of which sixteen are new and ten of those are previously owned.  Not bad.  I will make more general reflections when I have a bit of time to see what I see of my various monthly lists from the last year.

Join the Conversation

