Rituals and Rabbit

I made rabbit for supper tonight.  I’d received it from my CSA box some months ago, and decided to try it braised with prunes, thyme, and white wine — quite delicious.  I only remember having had rabbit a few times before (and not particularly liking it then), but I did enjoy it this time and can well see myself eating it more frequently.  Possibly even raising them one day for meat!

The rituals came about in church, naturally enough for a Sunday.  The service happened to involve a confirmation, so along with our normal high-Anglican bells, choral singing, and (small amount of) incense, we had a bishop with silver crozier and magnificent red vestments and mitre.

I was pleased to notice that he was wearing a purple shirt under his vestments, and had a purple stone in his ring; an amethyst, I presume.

We were reading Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite’s Mystical Theology last week.  I spent some time discussing with my students his concept of liturgy and ritual as a way of aligning our souls with heavenly order. I find it hard to believe in that with quite as much fervour as he obviously did, but I was quietly thrilled with the laying-on of hands at the service.  That chain of touch goes back nearly two thousand years, and that is something truly marvellous, a lower pattern from the higher one.

I like this aspect of the church, one of several reasons I appreciate high Anglicanism.  I love the orderliness of the church year, the slow rhythm of it: Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Epiphany-tide, Lent, Easter, Pentecost, the long burgeoning stretch of Trinity in green.  We are nearing the end of the green months now, with the cool weather having finally come to roost with October, and thoughts are definitely starting to turn towards Advent and the new church year.

Or perhaps that’s just me, as I am getting ready to make Christmas puddings soon!

Join the Conversation

