Woodsmoke and Catacombs

My next-door neighbours have a wood stove.  The last few days the weather has cooled enough for them to start using it, so I can smell the smoke in the morning.  This is a reason to be grateful to the poor seal on my living room windows, as that homeliest of scents can waft in.

This morning I learned that the Roman catacombs were used by a wide variety of mystery cultists as well as early Christians, and also that Christian art more or less started with those tombs.  Next time I go to Rome I shall have to see if I can go down in any part of their more than 100 km length to see what they are like.

 

Join the Conversation

