The Sistine Chapel, in General

Today I learned that Michelangelo had to chip away a section of fresco part-way into painting the Sistine Chapel ceiling and start over again because of a species of lime mould.

I am in awe.

I am grateful for great art, which reminds me that people can do remarkable magnificent things.  In particular, I am thankful for the opportunity today to spend a goodly piece of time talking about art with intelligent and thoughtful students.  I learned a useful lesson things about looking more carefully today, as one of my students pointed out that in the Madonna della Sedia the Christ child is clothed (quite unlike most of the Renaissance art we’d seen):


Also, the clouds behind the Madonna in Raphael’s Sistine Madonna are full of faces.

 

Join the Conversation

