A Month of Thanksgiving (also, September Books)

It’s a new month, and that means it’s time for my book list!  (I’m sure you’re all excited.  Once I get through this month I have a full list of a year’s reading, and I’m going to see if there are any interesting patterns to be found in my reading besides the fact that I do an insane amount of it.)

However, first I want to announce a small month-long challenge to myself.  My last self-given challenge, to write about the patterns of A Pattern Language, has not so much been forgotten about as been picked up, looked at, contemplated, and set aside time and again in favour of some more immediately pressing task, like reading Terry Pratchett for the fourth time this year or cleaning out my paperwork drawers.  (A task I did yesterday.)  I’m aiming a bit lower this month.

One of the bloggers I read frequently participates in a challenge set by another blogger (the Nester) to post on a set topic each day for the month of October.  Jules of Pancakes and Frenchfries is doing 31 Days of William Morris, intensifying an ongoing project of hers to make her entire house full of things that are beautiful or (and preferably and) useful.  I think this a most laudable goal, and indeed am attempting to do the same with my apartment, but I think doing something every day for a month is over-ambitious.

Thinking about what I could feasibly write about each day for a month, I was inspired by two things: that October includes (Canadian) Thanksgiving, and that when I was growing up my mother used to ask my sisters and I to tell her something we’d learned each day.  So I thought to myself I could write about these things and, no doubt, be a happier person as a result.  Things I am grateful for and things I have learned.

I imagine a lot of these will posted in the evening.  But to start with: I am thankful today for the new beginning of a month full of its promises and opportunities.  I am able to start over again with several things that had faltered, make small resolutions and big ones again, merely take a breath and look anew at things.  It is a great gift that this happens every month; indeed every week; indeed every day.

I am also grateful for the time I have to read.  In September I read:

Why is God Laughing?, Deepak Chopra (library)

Cards on the Table, Agatha Christie (owned)

*The Epic of Gilgamesh

Autobiography, G.K. Chesterton

*Antigone, Sophocles

*The Bacchae, Euripides

*Learning to Look, Joshua Charles Taylor (library)

*Ways of Seeing, John Berger (library)

The Wealthy Barber, David Chilton (borrowed)

Job, selections

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club, Dorothy L. Sayers

The Grand Tour, Tim Moore (library)

Possession, A.S. Byatt (owned)

Republic, selections, Plato

Without Reservations, Alice Steinbach (library)

*On the Heavens, selections, Aristotle

*Nicomachean Ethics, selections, Aristotle

The Lazy Gardener’s Guide, Geoffrey Gilbert (I’m not sure if I’d actually finished this before or not)

Thrifty: Living the Frugal Life with Style, Marjorie Harris (library)

Maid Marian, Thomas Love Peacock (owned)

Traditional Gardens, Roger Platts (bought at this book sale)

The Thread: A Mathematical Yarn, Philip J. Davies (bought at the last book sale)

 

Twenty-two books, fourteen of them new, seven of those owned.

 

2 thoughts on “A Month of Thanksgiving (also, September Books)

Join the Conversation

