August Books

Ah, the last month where the ones read for work are few and far between.  I have read rather an absurd quantity of novels, some of them twice, this summer.

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom, Christopher Healy (library)

Fables: Legends in Exile, Willingham, Medina, et al. (library)

The Aviary, Kathleen O’Dell (library)

The Secret Countess, Eva Ibbotson (library)

My Side of the Mountain, Jean Craighead George

The Bards of Bone Plain, Patricia McKillip (library)

The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss (library)

The Place of the Lion, Charles Williams

The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss

Sakuteiki: Visions of the Japanese Garden, Jiro Takei and Marc P. Keane (my own!)

Shades of Milk and Honey, Mary Robinette Kowal (library)

Death and the Dancing FootmanNgaio Marsh (my own)

The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss (again)

Angelmaker, Nick Harkaway (library)

Memoirs of a Geisha, Arthur Golden (my own)

Shakespeare’s Face, Stephanie Nolan et al. (bought)

The Stepsister Scheme, John Hines (library)

Beyond Backpacking, Ray Jardine

Writing Down the Bone, Natalie Goldberg (borrowed)

Manalive, G.K. Chesterton

Mansfield Park, Jane Austen (my own)

The Homemade Pantry: 100 Foods You Can Stop Buying and Start Making, Alana Chernila (library)

Lots of new books — 16/22 are new, though only four of those were previously owned by me (and one was bought during the month).  But I am toiling away at reading through a bookshelf — though I admit to rearranging the books somewhat, as some of them are reference books I’m just not going to read all the way through.  (Even I draw the line at a dictionary of houseplants.  Though ask me again in February when the weather’s got me down…)

Join the Conversation

