Blomidon

I had every intention of starting out today with my plan to go through the patterns of A Pattern Language, using the Halifax area for the purpose.  I even went for a drive up to the Annapolis Valley and the Look Off into the Valley so I could take pictures illustrative of #4, Agricultural Valleys.

However, yesterday evening I went to a children’s production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat put on by my church, and even though it didn’t go on very long I was sufficiently distracted to just read The Moonstone last night instead.  So my apologies.  I will start the Pattern Language section later this week, and make it a regular feature.

It was such a beautiful day on Friday (and Sunday) that I am just going to share some pictures of Nova Scotia.  I went up to the Look Off, as I said, where I found my Arcady in March.  (It’s still pretty well my Arcady in May, my favourite time of year.  Mind you, because I love this season so much, almost everywhere calls to me at the moment.)  I was hoping the apples would still be blooming — the Annapolis Valley is famous for its apples — but they were mostly finished.  I did find a few, including this one, overhanging the cliffs at Blomidon Provincial Park:

You can see the other side of the Minas Basin on the horizon.

Blomidon is noted more for its cliffs — and, as part of the shore of the Bay of Fundy, the highest tides in the world.  I was there close to high tide on this occasion, so I didn’t see the kilometres of mud flats that are apparently there, nor the boiling waters as they return.  (Another day!)  Just the cliffs and a very calm blue sea.

There was also a show-off swimming, but I didn’t get a good picture of him because I was a little too far away when I saw him actually go under.  I have gone swimming off the coast of Nova Scotia in May, once.  I don’t feel much need to go again.

I also worked on memorising a poem this weekend.  “Jenny Kiss’d Me,” by Leigh Hunt.  (I’m not sure why I wanted to learn this one by heart.  I made a list of all the poems I’d like to know, and, of the thirty or so, this was one of them, and one of the shortest, so I went for it first, to ease me back in to that part of the List.)

Jenny kiss’d me when we met,
Jumping from the chair she sat in;
Time, you thief, who love to get
Sweets into your list, get that in!
Say I’m weary, say I’m sad,
Say that health and wealth have miss’d me,
Say I’m growing old, but add,
Jenny kiss’d me.

It really doesn’t sound like it was written in the early nineteenth century, does it?

Join the Conversation

