April Books

At long last, today I finished The Timeless Way of Building, by Christopher Alexander.  I have had the book out for several months (oh, the glories of having faculty borrowing privileges from Nova Scotia libraries!), and am quite certain I will buy it at some point.  I might even buy it this week, together with the companion book,A Pattern Language, which is, sadly, only available on short loans because of the libraries to which it belongs.  Although I do have more time this month than in the past, it’s a book I’d like to own and refer to frequently.  And it’s free shipping to Canada at ABE Books at the moment, which means I save twenty or thirty dollars if I buy it now. . . .

Well, I’ll sleep on it.  These are my April books, none of which were for work as classes had finished.  Underlined ones are new to me.

Grow It!  – Richard W. Langer

The Girl With Glass Feet – Ali Shaw

Mairelon the Magician – Patricia C. Wrede

Magician’s Ward – Patricia C. Wrede

A Shilling for Candles – Josephine Tey

Footsteps in the Dark – Georgette Heyer

Fire and Hemlock – Diana Wynne Jones

Three Uses of the Knife: On the Nature and Purpose of DramaDavid Mamet

Take Joy: A Writer’s Guide to Loving the Craft – Jane Yolen

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase – Joan Aiken

To Love and Be Wise – Josephine Tey

A History of British Gardening – Miles Hadfield

Tom’s Midnight Garden – Philippa Pearce

The Breakout Novelist – Donald Maass

Astérix et les Goths – Goscinny and Uderzo

Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui – Karen Kingston

On Writing – Stephen King

The Timeless Way of Building – Christopher Alexander

 

Eighteen books, twelve of them new to me — and although I own The Breakout Novelist, Take Joy, and Three Uses for the Knife, they were all bought during the month.  Only A History of British Gardening was already on my shelf — the rest were from the library or (in the case of Fire and Hemlock and Footsteps in the Dark, borrowed from a friend).

I have my eye on two bookcase in particular, however — one of them is the one I am half-way through reading and which I hope to finish by December.  The other is my bookcase of philosophy, religion, satire, and books on the art, life, and craft of writing.  That’s the one I should like to read everything on, including the four volumes of Aquinas’ Summa Theologica in Latin.  (I’m missing volume five; it wasn’t at the library book sale where I go the others.)  Even with diligent privileging those books over others, however, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to read everything over the summer.  I’ll let you know.

Join the Conversation

