Signs of Spring

Yesterday I saw the first snowdrops of the year.

They weren’t fully in bloom, needing one more day of warmth, I suspect, but the flower buds were clearly visible.  They were nestled near a house, though not so near I’d expect the warmth from the building to affect them to that extent.  Not unless the house had extremely poor insulation in its basement; usually it’s only the plants within a few inches that are noticeably advanced from the ground heat.  These snowdrops were several feet away from the house, under a shrub that was the actual foundation planting.  But they were protected, on a slope facing a bit south of west, full in the afternoon sun.

Another sign of spring is the seeds for sale in various stores.  I bought a bunch while I was in Ottawa, because I found some from the Seed Savers Exchange, heritage varieties that are part of our agricultural riches.  Empress green bush beans, a mixture of lettuces — Australian Yellowleaf, Forellenschuss, Pablo, Red Velvet — don’t the names sound marvellous?  Bloomsdale spinach; Minnesota Midget melons; five colour silverbeet, also known as Rainbow Mix Swiss chard; Green Arrow peas; Tommy Toe cherry tomatoes; Chicago pickling cucumbers; a mixture of historic pansies; and the famous Brandywine tomato.

The Brandywine considered one of the best tomatoes of all time, but, fantasist that I am, of course I got it partly for its name, resonant of Tolkien’s Shire.  I will have my own little plot of Arcady in pots on my front step (the shade-tolerant ones: pansies, lettuce, spinach, possibly peas), the rest in pots in the back yard, where there’s more sun.  I am perhaps being over-ambitious, but I am being pushed by the coming spring and the current situation the main character of my present story is in.  More and both to come!

One thought on “Signs of Spring

  1. Pingback: On Tunisian Dates « The Rose and Phoenix Inn

Join the Conversation

