December Books

This post comes a little late, as I left the notebook where I’m keeping track of these things in Halifax and didn’t have to hand at the end of the month.  I didn’t read as much as usual in December, oddly enough because of being on holiday; I didn’t have the usual run of reading for work, and spent time visiting, playing board games, watching movies, and talking with my family instead of reading.  I didn’t do a lot of writing either, though with the exception of a couple of days I did write something every day.

Nevertheless, in December I read (one star for books I’ve read before, two for ones I read for work):

**Dr. Faustus, by Christopher Marlowe

Galileo, by Stillman Drake

**Selections by Galileo from  The Starry Messenger, Dialogue Concerning the Two Chief World Systems, and the Letter to the Duchess Christina

*Going Postal, by Terry Pratchett

Snuff, by Terry Pratchett (his new one: a bit slow to begin with, I thought, but increasingly enjoyable).

The Double Vision, by Northrop Frye

*A Circle of Quiet, by Madeleine L’Engle

The Tangerine Dream Café: A Year in Chelsea Physic Garden, by Limpet Barron, David Hughes, and Sarah Charles

The Harrowsmith Book of Fruit Trees, by Jennifer Bennett. (One for Canadian gardeners! Lots of good advice for growing things in even very cold — Canada-cold, not British or European cold — climates, including varieties for different regions and sources for getting them.)

*A Walk Across America, by Peter Jenkins

I’m still working my way through The Timeless Way of Building, though unfortunately I have to return A Pattern Language to the library before I can get to it.  It came through Interlibrary Loan from Cape Breton, so perhaps I can encourage the circulation of their library holdings at a later date.

One thought on “December Books

  1. Pingback: The Reading-Lust « The Rose and Phoenix Inn

Join the Conversation

